Please pass on the plastic

Just another WordPress.com weblog

#42–Avoiding Produce Bags September 29, 2008

Filed under: no more plastic — michelleodonoghue @ 1:49 am
Tags: ,

Ok, so this may seem like something little, that’s been my reason for not writing about this……but I keep coming back to this idea b/c it all adds up. A lot of us have become reeeally good at remembering to bring our cloth shopping bags, why not produce bags? First off, I try to use as few as possible when shopping. Do avocados really need to be bagged? bananas? potatoes? If I do use, i try not to tightly knot, then i can easily untie when I get home and stuff produce bag right back into cloth bag for next time. Obviously there are exceptions (my lettuce bags tend to be one-timers), but its really not too tricky to re-use most of these bags…..

A friend, who so sincerely complimented my non-use and re-use of produce bags, sent me this link….

the peaceful company.

They sell cloth produce bags, although a bit pricey ($16 / 3 bags), really functional and very reusable. The site also has other great recycled, reclaimed gift items, household goods, and cleaning supplies.

 

2 Responses to “#42–Avoiding Produce Bags”

  1. Stephanie Says:

    I’m SO GLAD you posted this. I struggle with this all the time. I try not to use them but sometimes its unavoidable. I know what I’m getting everyone for xmas this year!

  2. Erin Says:

    Reusable produce bags. That is great! I try not to use any, but when I get to the checkout laser scanner, all the freshly misted produce gets the whole system wet. This is a great solution. Great Christmas idea, I might add (hint, hint.)


Leave a Reply

