Please pass on the plastic

Just another WordPress.com weblog

I Took The Plastic Pledge October 26, 2009

Filed under: no more plastic — michelleodonoghue @ 5:20 pm

to never drink from a plastic bottle again……not just water, but all plastic drinks (vitamin water, sodas, perrier as well.)  And its not that I drink those very often, but when the urge calls….) I’ve always justified it by recycling the bottle afterwards. After spending a weekend in LA with the plastic pollution coalition, an impressive group of people, who are committed to eliminating single-use plastics in our disturbingly wasteful culture. Difficult mission, but essential. I will rave about them in a coming post…

Back to my pledge….Why did I wait so long?? As the executive producer (fancy title!!) of a film that  berates the use of bottled water I should have been the first to sign up. In fact, I should have started this campaign.  I didn’t because it is really hard to do, even though I know, inside and out, all the dire consequences to our health and our planet when plastic is produced, consumed, tossed, even recycled.

And the earth shattering (and earth saving) news here is that since my husband and I took the pledge, my children, by default, have taken the pledge as well. That makes 6 of us who will no longer be contributing to the plastic bottle mess.

Some key thoughts cross my mind in order to be able to do this effectively:

1.) since I already have filtered water at home, I need to have lots of reusable bottles filled and  ready to grab at an instants notice

2.) be prepared emotionally for those uncomfortable situations when a friend offers a bottled drink and I have to stick to my pledge (despite being really thirsty)

3.) be prepared for lots of complaining from children when they are not allowed a vitamin water after ice hockey or basketball practice, or at the birthday party or at their friends’ house or in the airport…..what exactly did I get myself into??

4.) purchase a water bottle that has a filter in it so I can drink water on the go

I’m sure I’m not thinking of a few pieces to this puzzle but I’m committed. Game on….

Join me!!

 

5 Responses to “I Took The Plastic Pledge”

  1. Jeff Says:

    Thats a pretty hard pledge to stick to but I’m going to have a go at it. I have already stopped buying bottled water and will try to continue on doing away with as much plastic as possible.

  2. Meghan Says:

    You are so motivating.
    Thinking about it. Thinking about it.

  3. stephanie Says:

    We can do cans right? I ran into a really difficult scenario – iced coffee at starbucks!
    I’ve tried avoiding plastic altogether thinking it would be easy since I’m already a greenie – oy!
    It’s EVERY WHERE!
    Great post – you’re so inspiring!

  4. Sandy Says:

    Hi I commend you for your efforts. It is so important to
    stop buying bottled water or any other plastic bottles.
    Have you seen this site yet:http://www.tappedthemovie.com/

    Some great stuff.

    Also, I have come across a Environmentally safe stainless steel
    FILTERED water bottle that can replace up to 800 bottles of water. http://www.tripstotravel.com/?page_id=285

    I am starting to promote this, because it is going to help save our
    oceans and landfills from the billions of plastic bottles.
    All the best to you.

    Sandy Kimball

  5. Lauren Says:

    I didn’t know they had resuable water bottles for on the go with a filter in it!!! Great find – and praying for the 6 of you as live the pledge – doing the right thing is hard. But you have the passion and the planning – Thanks for the motivation and information so we can take baby steps here and hopefully be another 4 in the short future!!

    Just read on your Tapped online Newsletter that Fairfax County, VA has some of the best tapped water – yahhoooo!! one good thing for moving from CO to VA!


Leave a Reply

